Eye hospital in Ernakulam


The uvea is the middle layer of eye. It lies below the white part of the eye called sclera. It is made up of choroid, iris and ciliary body. These structures will control several eye functions like adjusting the diverse level of light or distances of the objects. Inflammation of one or more these structures is known as uveitis.  The eye is shaped like tennis ball, with 3 different layers of tissues surrounded by the central gel-filled cavity, called as the vitreous. The innermost layer is retina that senses the light & helps to send the images to your brain. The outermost layer is called as sclera, the strong white wall of eye. The middle layer in between the sclera & retina is known as uvea. The uvea consists of many blood vessels like veins, arteries & capillaries .These will carry the blood to & from the eye.  The uvea nourishes several important parts of the eye (like retina); inflammation of the uvea may damage your sight.
There are different types of uveitis, defined by part of the eye where it occurs.

  • Iritis which affects the front of the eye. Also known as anterior uveitis, this uveitis is the most common type. Iritis generally develops suddenly & will last 6 to 8 weeks. Some types of anterior uveitis will be chronic or recurrent.
  • If the uvea is inflamed in middle region or intermediate region of the eye, it is termed as pars planitis (or intermediate uveitis). Occurrence of pars planitis can last in between a few weeks to some years. The disease goes by cycles of getting better, then worse.
  • Posterior uveitis will affects the back parts of the eye. Posterior uveitis will develop slowly & usually lasts for many years.
  • Panuveitis occurs when all the layers of uvea are inflamed.

Ask doctor

Video Gallery


Call Us

Book Appointment Notification